Who was dropped from the All-Centennial Team announced by the Bruins?

As part of their 100th-anniversary festivities for the 2023-24 NHL season, the Boston Bruins have curated an all-time team. The team consists of 12 forwards, six defensemen, and two goaltenders. Given the rich history of exceptional players who have graced the Bruins’ uniform over the last century, some prominent names were bound to be omitted. Below is the official All-Centennial Team roster released by the Bruins on Thursday:


  • Patrice Bergeron
  • Johnny Bucyk
  • Wayne Cashman
  • Bill Cowley
  • Phil Esposito
  • David Krejci
  • Brad Marchand
  • Rick Middleton
  • Cam Neely
  • Terry O’Reilly
  • David Pastrnak
  • Milt Schmidt


  • Ray Bourque
  • Zdeno Chara
  • Dit Clapper
  • Bobby Orr
  • Brad Park
  • Eddie Shore


  • Frank Brimsek
  • Gerry Cheevers

There are few, if any, contentious selections on this list. Most of these players are clear-cut choices, and perhaps the only position that sparks a significant debate is goaltender.

Tim Thomas, a two-time Vezina Trophy winner and a key figure in the Bruins’ 2011 Stanley Cup victory, stands out. He also earned the Conn Smythe Trophy during that playoff run, making a strong case for his inclusion. On the other hand, Tuukka Rask’s impressive stats, including a team-record 308 wins, make him a compelling candidate. However, Rask’s lack of a Stanley Cup as a starting netminder is a strike against him.

The group of forwards is well-rounded, with Adam Oates making a notable contribution during his six-season tenure with the Bruins. The defensemen’s roster appears solid, making it challenging to replace any of the six featured players. This list of blueliners is arguably one of the best in the league’s history.

In general, this is an outstanding team with very few questionable selections, primarily limited to the goaltender position. The selection committee should be commended for their choices.

You might also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *